EVS Experience Blog


My name is Ibtissem and I come from a city that is 25 km from Milan in Italy.
I chose this project because I wanted to live a long-term experience abroad and give myself a time to help someone. I chose the Gigos project because I share the goals.

I’ve been living this adventure for almost 5 months, the first few months have been quite chaotic, new habits and lots of names and places to remember; having to settle in a new place where you do not know the language was my biggest issue, even if everyone practically here have a good level of English.

After this first moment of adaptation I could finally begin to appreciate this experience in which every day, sometimes without even realizing it, I learn something new and interesting. I carry out activities with children from 6 to 10 years and with girls from 11 to 16 years and this allows me to be able to organize and take part in various activities from the most creative or simply play with children to those a little more educational with girls.


I arrive to genk on 6 of November 2017,
Was very nice for me meet with Ibtissem in Zaventem Airport, I remember myself lost trying to find the train and Asking to the airport employees about it.
Ibtissem called me a lot of times but I was in the airplane, my plane arrived one hour late, and her plane exactly one hour before, so she was inside waiting for me and I din’t know.

Finally, we meet and take the trains ( 2 trains) to Genk. There Wendy ( our coordinator) was waiting for us. She was very friendly and took us a home, Stalenstraat 15.
This moment I remember like nice now, but also I felt no confortable because I can not speak in English, and I felt that people speaked so fast and I did not understand nothing.

In the next days, Wendy was with us all the time, showed the city, maked bureaucratic procedures, showed my work place and my colleagues, buyed grosseries with us, learned a bit of Nederlands, etc.
In the house there was 2 Evs one from Spain, and other from Slovaquia, so was really easy the arrival for me, and asked them about any doubt I was.
Also the house is nice, we have a room for each one, the badroom, the kitchen (where we spend a lot of time) and the living room ( here in the beginning we meet every night to see “vampires diares” ). In our walls you can see memories about the others volunteers, this gives the house a special beauty.

My place of work is Genk- Zuid, and I felt well there since the beginning, they are nice with me and the work environment is great! That was really important for me, because I could show myself and feel comfortable with them.
Sometimes when I feel a bit homesick or nostalgic, speak with Wendy and also with my tutor help me to takes again the positive vibes and see the things with a different point of view.

Now, I am here 4 months and I feel that was yesterday that I arrived, really, I can’t believe that the time flies. I can say that I am happy for this experience, and exited for the future, because all people tell me that the summer will be great here, that I have not seen the best.


Hay muchas personas en el mundo que decidieron hacer un Servicio Voluntario Europeo. Las razones son millones y diferentes para todos. EVS es más que una experiencia es una oportunidad para el desarrollo y tal vez para encontrar sus lugares en el mundo. Tus aventuras comienzan incluso antes de que salgas de tu ciudad y supondrá muchos desafíos desde el momento en que decidiste hacerlo cuando tienes que encontrar los proyectos entre cientos de ellos que de acuerdo con tus intereses, por ejemplo. Luego hay otro más de lo que todavía has experimentado.

Mi nombre es Andrea, tengo 24 años y soy de Almería una pequeña ciudad de Almería. En mis experiencias personales, tuve un gran desafío porque mi inglés. No podía imaginar cuánto me iba a ser difícil. Las primeras semanas ni siquiera hablé demasiado con los demás voluntarios y el personal.

Fue un comienzo realmente duro para mí porque no podía expresarme bien. Pero la propia supervivencia me hizo aprender y perder el miedo a equivocarme durante la conversación. Puedo decir que fue muy gracioso pero también complicado. Después de un par de meses, podría profundizar en el proyecto y tomar más detalles al respecto. En el trabajo también fue difícil con los niños porque no hablaba holandés y los niños no entienden bien el inglés. Pero descubrí la forma de comunicarme con ellos por mis manos y pocas palabras en inglés y holandés. Entonces, podría hacer algunas actividades deportivas con ellos como voleibol, algunos juegos invitados y manualidades, etc.

Durante mis 4 meses estaba bien en el trabajo, pero después de un tiempo me di cuenta de que quería hacer otra cosa, así que decidí cambiar mi patio de recreo (Winterslag) al proyecto de circo de Gigos. Finalmente, me sentí mejor y estoy trabajando con eso y en Zinneke y mi proyecto terminará en junio, así que está terminando, pero puedo decir que recomendaré estas experiencias a todos.